Fire

By Brianne Barkley

fire, love, poem, poetry, creative writing, fiction, flash fiction, brianne,writes

Courtesy of VersacePhuong

__________________

Note: This is a poem I wrote back in University based off a certain form which, for the life of me, I can’t remember the name off. But basically, you use an excerpt from another poem (mine being Pablu Neruda’s “If You Forget Me”) and you use those lines as the last lines of your stanzas. I’m not big on writing poetry, but I did enjoy this one!

_________________

in me all that fire is repeated

in me nothing is extinguished or forgotten,

my love feeds on your love, beloved,

and as long as you live it will be in your arms

-Pablu Neruda, from “If You Forget Me”

We were a fire
blazing hot and swift,
leaving destruction in our path.
Gone –
who says you are gone?
Brittle world left in our wake,
rebuild it, forget it.
It’s up to me now.
But still,
in me all that fire is repeated.

Devastation –
Nothing I can’t endure.
Extinguish my feelings…
I’ll walk through fire
to meet my sweet end.
Forget all those memories:
warmth under blankets,
laughs muffled by lips.
This is not easy, because
in me nothing is extinguished or forgotten.

Am I to blame
for this fiery existence?
This hell in my heart.
This inferno in my soul.
I must mend it…
Fold my feelings into tiny little parcels
and send them off to be forgotten.
Please do not make me suffer,
because in truth,
my love feeds on your love, beloved,

That flourishing love
embedded in my soul.
Love that burned bright, now a
pile of ashes.
Sprinkle them across the ocean
I made.
Do not feel sorry for me.
But remember,
you took me heart
and as long as you live it will be in your arms

5 thoughts on “Fire

  1. You may not be big on writing poetry, but you have a way of bringing forth emotion through that format as well.
    I hope to see more from time to time.
    Keep writing

    JMC

Share your words of wisdom!

