My Hero

By Brianne Barkley

Based on The Daily Post’s Daily Prompt: Heroic

________________

When we first met, I cried in his arms. He hushed me gently and, through blurry eyes, I gazed up at him. Kind eyes, with thick glasses magnifying his own glaze of tears, looked back at me, whispering promises of a great life.

Years later, I would wait for him to come home. Every day, I waited with the anticipation of a toddler, wondering if maybe he’d be early today. Maybe he’d surprise me that day. On an old squishy sofa I sat, my favorite show playing in the background, while my eyes darted impatiently towards the door, waiting for the tell-tale squeak of the old doorknob turning.

More years passed, and I yearned to be with him still. Late nights took him on drives to work, off to fix other people’s problems. I would happily tag along, bumping around in his van filled with tools, flipping through his book of CDs, picking new favorites from The Beatles or Aerosmith, listening to Hole in my Soul on repeat until he asked me why I didn’t listen to the rest of the songs. And so I did, and so I came to love music.

Many years later than this, I would tell him I hate him. I would scream his injustices back at him, tell him everything was his fault, tell him that he couldn’t control my life, tell him to shut the hell up. But he wouldn’t leave, and he wouldn’t strike back. He would merely shake his head at me, disappointed in my hatred, and walk away.

As our time together grew longer, we drifted in and out of each other’s lives. But he was never far. Never out of reach to lend a hand or an ear or a shoulder. Never has he been too busy to drop what he was doing at the sound of the words, “Dad, I need your help.”

______________

P.S – I’m back, hopefully, to post more often. My life has finally settled down enough!

 

Other people’s heroes:

  1. Morning milk delivery | Vintage Photography
  2. covet | yi-ching lin photography
  3. Where were You – the Power of Forgiving | A Teacher’s Blog
  4. Siegfried Sassoon, Hopelessness and Iraq | As I please
  5. Feeding The Monster | The Jittery Goat
  6. daily prompt: heroic | aimanss…
  7. Daily Prompt: Heroic « cognitive reflection
  8. DP Daily Prompt: Heroic | Sabethville
  9. Daily Prompt: Heroic | Incidents of a Dysfunctional Spraffer
  10. 5 Year Old Hero – The Engine that could. | L5GN
  11. Heroic | Geek Ergo Sum
  12. Daily Prompt: Heroic | Finding Life
  13. The Portal – A Friday Flash Fantasy | My Little Avalon
  14. Heroic Visions | THE OVERCOMING
  15. Tail Business and Heroes! Daily Prompt… | alienorajt
  16. A Little Girl’s Hero « My journey to qualify for the Boston Marathon…and everything in between…
  17. Daily Prompt: Heroic | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  18. The Dad Who Didn’t Have To Be | theauthorwhoknows
  19. Daily prompt: Heroic | laura-in-china
  20. My Childhood Hero | all my likes
  21. My Dad, My Hero | A mom’s blog
  22. Daily Prompt – Hero. | My Beautiful Messed Up World.
  23. Even Heroes Can Wear Thin « Mon Cache
  24. Are You A Hero in Your Home? | Ako Si Ehm Blog
  25. The Dark Knight | Sébastien Grobelny – Photography
  26. Hanging with the Guys | Nicetomeetyou:I’mCourtney
  27. Daily Prompt: Heroic | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  28. Of becoming your own hero/ heroine. | Concentrate On Yourself
  29. Mr. Rogers Was My Hero
  30. Moon, Moon on the sky…….Watch Me Die | Shadows Of The Divine
  31. Daily Prompt: Heroic | Basically Beyond Basic
  32. My Heroes | Flowers and Breezes
  33. Still my hero | Life is great
  34. Heroic : My 5 Year Old Self. | ♥Barb’s Magical Land Of Oz♥
  35. Who Says Heroes Have to Wear Capes? | meanderedwanderings
  36. The Forgotten Hero | Dance with the Rain
  37. Lawrence of Arabia/Daily Prompt-Hero | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  38. MY HEROES WEAR MASKS – HI YO SILVER! THE LONG RANGER RIDE AGAIN! | SERENDIPITY
  39. babusya | peacefulblessedstar
  40. MY HEROES WEAR MASKS – THE LONG RANGER RIDE AGAIN! | SERENDIPITY
  41. Daddy | The Magic Black Book
  42. Still my hero | From Five to Fifty
  43. My First Post-marital Blog Post | Vagabond
  44. Five’s Hero.. | Relax

12 thoughts on “My Hero

  1. Pingback: My Dad, My Hero | A mom's blog

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Heroic | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Heroic | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  4. Pingback: Heroic | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  5. Pingback: Feeding The Monster | The Jittery Goat

  6. Pingback: Still my hero | Life is great

  7. Pingback: My first word was: Tata | ivymosquito

  8. Pingback: 9/11 Heroes | Daily Prompt: Heroic | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

  9. Pingback: The hero-less five year old | Rob's Surf Report

Share your words of wisdom!

